T-Minus 10 Days..

10 Aug

I guess the best time to start my posts about abroad in Copenhagen is now.  I have 10 days to go before embarking on a 4 month journey to the Scandinavian country of Denmark.  I am not sure if  I even have two suitcases big enough to take and I have yet to unpack from my summer in Richmond, let alone for Copenhagen.

However, I said goodbye to Aaron (one of the most difficult experiences I have yet to experience) yesterday and made the 6+ hour drive home from Louisville.  I had my last hoorah at Lollapalooza Saturday with Aaron up in Chicago, enjoying the music of Fitz and the Tantrums, the Drums, the Local Natives, Lykke Li, and Beirut.  I cuddled Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday away, and now it is time to face realty: I leave in less than 10 days and I have a heck of a lot left to do before I leave.

Naturally, I am crafting a packing list.  I have made the executive decision to bring only two pairs of shorts for an unusually hot day or two in September, but other than that, it looks like it is going to be two suitcases full of autumn and winter attire, as Copenhagen’s weather does not look like it will rise above 70 degrees after I get there.

While in the process of looking up essentials to pack while I am abroad (thanks to all my ∆∆∆ sisters for their advice so far), I came across The Study Abroad Blog.  It is a blog written by someone with some experience going abroad and has tons of useful tips (hello ATMCash card..I am ordering this puppy as soon as possible!).

So the next few days will be filled with attempts to keep each suitcase under 50 pounds; visits to multiple doctors offices for last-minute vaccinations, check-ups, etc.; and goodbyes to my best friends, my mum, and my puppy.

Leave a comment