Fairytale Island

1 Oct

To wrap up my series on my trip to Funen, I’m actually going to share a bit about Funen and what I saw.  Funen is an island in between mainland (Jutland) Denmark and Zealand, the island where Copenhagen is located.  The island is super adorable, with small fishing villages and colorful cottages with thatched roofs.  Embarrassing as it is to say, I thought this was what I would find in Copenhagen.  So naturally, I was delighted to get to see Funen during my time in Denmark.

Fishing Village

We stayed in Odense overnight after the castles and before hitting up the H.C. Andersen museum and a 19th century Danish village.  Odense is the third largest city in Denmark (167,615! so tiny for being the third biggest in Denmark!).  It is full of culture, as past kings have spent much of their time there.  It was also the birthplace of author Hans Christian Andersen (you know, the Little Mermaid, the Ugly Duckling, the Princess and the Pea…).

Odense
And yes, most every street looks like this! So adorable!

Told you! More cute streets

Hanging out with HC

Andy Warhol of an HC cutout of Thumbelina

Just hanging out with a Viking king, NBD

The Funen Village, a 19th century Danish replica village

Loving all the windmills in Scandinavia!

One Response to “Fairytale Island”

  1. K. 2 October 2011 at 9 14 pm #

    I seriously adore your blog. Thank you for sharing with us, promise to visit you daily! I love Denmark and I’m planning to go there next year so your blog is really helpful and interesting to me.
    Keep doing good work!

Leave a Reply

